Saying good-bye to Enterprise Windows

After years of writing one-off articles and technical books for all the major venues, I recall the day in late 2007 when I was asked if I would like to write a weekly column for InfoWorld called Enterprise Windows—a dream come true and a wonderful privilege, to be sure.

My first column was titled “Save XP? Why bother?,” which took an at-odds position directly against InfoWorld’s popular “Save XP” campaign. I received about 100 comments (many of them too nasty and profane to quote). If I was going to press on, I needed to do two things. First, grow a thicker skin (after wiping away the tears). Second, keep telling the truth from my perspective, though that would mean being at odds with readers at times, my editor at times, with fellow IT professionals at times, and with even Microsoft at times. I did so, to the best of my abilities, for nearly a decade.

To read this article in full or to leave a comment, please click here

from InfoWorld Cloud Computing http://ift.tt/2gUK4jv
via IFTTT

