No, Microsoft does not love open source

Recently I saw “Microsoft and open source” flash across my LinkedIn notifications on my phone. The LinkedIn app then crashed and I couldn’t find the post, which was linked to Ross Gardler, Microsoft’s principal program manager for Azure Container Services.

I know what it said without reading it. Same thing it has said for years: Kindler, gentler Microsoft loves open source.

I used to follow Microsoft’s intellectual property Twitter account in order to see exactly how much Microsoft loved open source as it bragged about all the people it had coerced into signing patent agreements. I guess someone realized that crowing about that was not a great idea, because today the feed tweets puff pieces about how great software patents are and how they drive innovation (through litigation).

To read this article in full or to leave a comment, please click here

from InfoWorld Cloud Computing http://ift.tt/2fejGQg
via IFTTT

