IDG Contributor Network: How many clouds are there?

How many clouds are there?

If you’re reading this, there is a good chance, like me, you are the most technical person in your family. No matter how hard I try not to work at family events, it doesn’t usually take long for somebody to come up and drag me into some tech issue. Usually it has to do with recovering a lost file or getting a suborn virus off an old laptop, but every once in a while my family stumps me. 

Recently, I was asked how many clouds there are. I was ready to shout out some answer when my brain really started to churn. I was trying to decide what counted as a cloud. The cloud is generally considered anything that delivers services over the internet. Quickly I gave up on counting major services that are provided over the internet, and my thought process changed to “How many clouds will there be?”; “How many should there be?”; “If one cloud provider runs on another generic cloud provider does that count for one or two clouds?”

To read this article in full or to leave a comment, please click here

from InfoWorld Cloud Computing http://ift.tt/2blwBds
via IFTTT

